< REFRESH >
Topic Title: Caring for someone...
Created On: 01/10/2001 11:22 AM

View topic in raw text format.

Bookmark and Share

10/04/2002 07:47 PM

Author Icon
Haddock

Hi, I can understand where you all come from I have been caring for my quadriplegic brother for about 18 yrs. And that hadn't been to bad til he got a pressure sore near his scrotum in the crease of his leg and since May I haven't had much of a life it has been horrible. For one thing he had never ever had a pressure sore and I really didn't know how bad these things were til he got his and now that he has this he has to be put in bed every 2 hours and he can only be up for 2 hours at a time. I have a family of my own and trying to take care of them and being there for them is hard and caring for my own home has been crazy. I'm a stay at home mom but with helping take care of him I think I would rather be working outside the home. We now have a nurse come in but all she does is check on the wound and leaves so she really is alot of help. My mom and me are the only care givers for him and for two years I have been the therapist and the bather and the one that gets him out of bed all day, cause two years ago my mom had hip replacement and even though everything went well for my mom she still can't do any lifting like she did before. So I just wanted to say to you all just stick there and hope for the best with everything. I just keep telling myself its for your family and isn't that what families are for. Well good luck to you all.
    REPLY     Quote     Top     Bottom    
 05/10/2001 09:38 PM

Author Icon
notshown